top of page
Writer's pictureJulie Pabillar, BScN, MHS Student

Social Media & My Digital Identity as My Worlds Intertwine

Updated: Mar 31, 2021

Anyone with a broadband connection, a resource to share and much worse, a bias opinion could potentially cause irreversible damage to their reputation both personally and professionally. Not to mention, shape other people's views that could cause potential health care concerns with outcomes too late to revoke.


Recently, I have reflected upon my social presence and how I want my digital identity to exist in our ever-accessible wide world of the internet. I will admit I have entered <my name> into the search bar, but mostly as a teachable moment for my 11-year-old daughter so that we could further discuss the safety of private usage without consent for public consumption. Social presence could impact future opportunities depending on what is online about you, and that some things can be distorted negatively and appear different than what the intention was. Fortunately, when I search for my name, only my LinkedIn account, some running race stats, a few retweets or comments that I have made - thankfully all true to my set values of truth and integrity.


To protect me professionally and personally, I have always been conscientious of what I share, whom I share online and how I communicate. Over the years, my social media platforms and exchanges intertwine from all angles. It has grown consistently of friends, acquaintances, colleagues, supervisors, running peers, volunteer committee members etc.


Outside of my personal values, I am obligated to abide by professional standards set out through nursing practice through my governing body - College of Nurses of Ontario (CNO). The professional standard guidelines that incorporate social media use are (but are not limited to) accountability and leadership. The CNO has strict guidelines that nurses are accountable to the public and responsible for ensuring that their practice and conduct meets legislative requirements and the profession's standards (CNO, 2020). Professionally, I am accountable for all of my actions, whether online and offline, within my workplace or away. Leadership requires understanding one's beliefs and values and being aware of how your behaviors affect others. (CNO, 2020). There is an excellent video from CNO Social Media: Reflect before You Post (2013) that is available and has helpful information that can support making sound decisions regarding social media use that I feel can be used by any profession. By being mindful of my online social presence, I can lead by example and demonstrate to the public (and each other) the qualities of respect, trust, and integrity that my profession encompasses. I also have an obligation through my employer, which holds me accountable and responsible for any content that I post that ensures my conduct does not damage trust in my workplace's reputation.


Video 1

Social media: Reflect before you post

(College of Nurses of Ontario, 2013)

It truly is a blurred line sometimes because our personal and professional lives often collide and intertwine. As a Registered Nurse, I am accountable for my actions and the reputation of my profession. As I continue to develop my social presence and digital identity, I take even more of a pause and take the advice from the social media guidelines of the Registered Nurses Association of Ontario (RNAO) "when in doubt, don't post" (n.d., para 3). Doing so will ensure that both my personal and professional worlds align to indulge in social media's benefits as a powerful tool. With a broadband connection, a resource to share and an evidence-informed opinion, I could professionally represent while connecting with others personally, build professional networks, promote and share accurate, credible and reliable information while engaging in healthy and meaningful discussions.




References

College of Nurses of Ontario. (2002). Professional Standards, Revised 2002. Practice Standard. Retrieved January 22, 2021, from https://www.cno.org/globalassets/docs/prac/41006_profstds.pdf


College of Nurses of Ontario. (2013). Social media: reflect before you post [Video]. Retrieved January 19, 2021, from https://www.cno.org/en/learn-about-standards-guidelines/educational-tools/webcasts/social-media-reflect-before-you-post/


Registered Nurses Association of Ontario. (n.d.). Social media guidelines for nurses. Retrieved January 27, 2021, from https://rnao.ca/news/socialmediaguideline

Comentarios


bottom of page